Stem Cell TransplantBlog +23 days. (I used to know my own name some of the time)

Blood numbers are still coming up! WBC was at 2.03 this morning. They’re saying it was 3.00 but I can’t find that number! Platelets are pretty low. At any rate, I”m getting better quickly. I expect this will continue like this with few exceptions?

As I mentioned in the title, my memory, at times, is almost laughable! I’m hoping to see most of that pass, because if it doesn’t, it will make my  life a great deal more difficult.

Still getting ready to leave. I hope to remember all of the things that we have to do in order to shut the house down for 3 months. I’ve got quite a list and that will have to substitute for memory!

PURVEYORS OF POOP!

I know I’m not using the term correctly but it has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it? I’ve never met a group of people more interested in the former contents of your bowels that the doctors and staff here at the hospital. They are intensely interested in quantity, consistency, texture, etc. I wouldn’t be a bit surprised if some of them have a scrapbook! That’s one of the strangest preoccupations ever! I’ve talked more about poop in a month than I would have cared to have done in a lifetime.

In pursuit of the elusive, unfettered showers. It’s only been in the last couple of days that I’ve been able to be disconnected from the IV poles. I’m having trouble getting used to having that much freedom. It’s wonderful being able to walk around doing whatever I want without worrying about that pole!

Well, now, I have to work out my finances, how we’re going to shut down the house, and what we need to bring with us. So, I’ve got to go.

My wife has already sent our dog out for lodging for the next 90 days! I guess we’re already in the transition to the outside world which will b the out patient gulag surrounding Roswell Park. We’ll be staying about 3 blocks away from the hospital in a very nice 2 bedroom apartment. It is small but definitely adequate. It looks like a well thought-out design. Can’t wait to get out of here! Hospital stays are tedious even in the best of circumstances.

More tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

