10 pm Stem Cell Transplant Blog: +Day 19, Replacing your Leukemia With Stem Cells 1 cell at a time!

This is not a political blog nor was it ever intended to be. But I am going to make a short one here as a result of what I heard just before I began to write tonight.

I don’t ever want to hear anyone of us objecting to taking refugees from the middle east. Why? Because no matter who we were bombing or blowing up or for what reason, we created many of them (probably most of them). My experience tells me that most refugees are apolitical and are just trying to get by!

I’m tired of seeing the victims victimized and blamed for their own victimization as has so often been the case. If we can afford the cost of dispossessing them of all they have, then we should be able to help them afford to put a roof over their heads and food in their stomach.

It was a miserable day today for me. Fought with my doctor over what I said and he said. No future in that!

It’s interesting. My leukemia was diagnosed almost a year to the day from today. This is my leukemia birthday! My life expectancy at that time was 2 to 8 months. Fortunately, for me, that fact was misrepresented to me (probably in error) and I was told that, Leukemia All is one of the simplest childhood leukemias to manage. It is in children. In adults, it’s just the opposite. You’re fortunate to survive it even for a few months.

The treatment for it, with multiple chemotherapies, is very unpleasant. And, because it can kill you so quickly, the pace at which you have to get treatments never slackens. The drumbeat of the pain is incessant and you find yourself struggling to keep up with them or even justifying the reason that you want to keep on doing them!

For reasons that I don’t entirely understand, I’ve always (or almost always) thought that I was going to survive this leukemia.

However, there was that day when I was told that my bone marrow biopsy showed that 70% of all my bone marrow was producing leukemia blasts and that the cancer had crossed the blood barrier into the brain. Both of those statements got my attention!

More tomorrow!

Friday

Life is an exhilarating experience but we become so used to it that it appears to be mundane. Life is exactly as it was intended to be: A very difficult journey of discovery from start to finish with unending opposition and constant work right up to the end.

We forget what a great blessing it is and what a wonderful experience. Crises such as my leukemia make that point abundantly clear. Every day in our life is such a blessing but also a challenge of almost equal dimensions. Life is a struggle from beginning to end. It was meant to be this way. Our resentments, our fears and our wounded-ness come from the fact that we forget this or never knew it to be true in the first place.

Our Father in Heaven is always waiting to help us. Unfortunately, that is an understanding had by remarkably few people. Satan has been extremely effective in obscuring this fact and other essential truths as well. And the world groans under the weight of darkness and sin because of the deceiver’s influence.

People are so worthwhile yet we often fail to see it because of their faults or ours. That is very tragic. We have to do better than that. The only way to do that is to develop an ever increasing humility which means a recognition that we are not in-charge of our lives. There are things which we are in-charge of in this life and others which we are not. We have a great deal of difficulty in distinguishing which is which. That creates many of our problems.

Leave a Reply

