10 pm Stem Cell Transplant Blog: +Day 15, Replacing Leukemia Blasts With Stem Cells: 1 cell at a time!

My plans for today were to write about writing poetry and relate some dreams that I had lately in connection with the leukemia bone marrow transplant. It didn’t turn out that way.

No sooner than I got up this morning, I began having problems with energy and focus. I became torpid and slow, approaching a state of semi-consciousness. Took me all day to edit and organize the little bit you’re going to see here tonight. This may be the most frustrating part of being sick. Need to be more patient. In a couple of weeks most of this will pass as a matter of blood improvement. Speaking of which, still no sign of any new white cells being produced. I’m totally unprotected now. Have been for a few days. Probably will be for a few days more.

Just lost my entire post again for the night. Got it back. WordPress is more difficult to work with than Word or Google docs when it comes to recovery! I’m spooked. Gonna quit for the night. Hope you enjoy the poem on pain. I’ll explain more about it tomorrow!

THE PAIN

Pain, Ω
Distills my thoughts,
Gives sight to my grief,
And purpose to my guilt
Requiring the exercise of faith,
So I’ll find relief

Pain,
Again, overwhelms my senses,
Tracing the outlines of consciousness
Like a dull rusted blade,
With conciseness,
Touching the conscience of my soul,

I’m a portrait in pain,
I’pm a pale-vision!
Reminding me of who I am,
And what I’m meant to be!
Both vision and distraction follow me!

More (and better) tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

