Transplant+1 Blog

This is a very emotional blog for me to write. I’m locked up inside myself about it. Never had a more terrifying or awe-inspiring set of experiences in my life. I said I’d write it, so I’ll try.

MY NEW LIFE

Received my bone marrow transplant yesterday. Technically a “rebirth”. Took all of about half an hour. I had some strange “dreams” during the process and for the next couple of hours which someday I may choose to elaborate on. Other than that, there were no side effects. It wasn’t a bad day.

Today, the second day of my new life, I feel almost normal except for the residual effects of the prior days of intensive chemotherapy and the accompanying unremitting diarrhea. Ate a little bit for the first time in two days. Then I worked out. Walked a mile. Went up and down the four step exercise “stairs” 25 times. Still feel clear-headed and reasonably strong. In the last 11 months of chemotherapy (and 10 hospitalizations), I’ve found that I can go without eating much for about 5 days and not feel much loss of strength (or so it seems to me).

Looking at what I’ve written so far, I realized that, sometimes, the best place to start is at the beginning. I’ll give you the Reader’s Digest recap of my life since leukemia (last September).

Starting tomorrow

One thought on “Transplant+1 Blog

Leave a Reply

