Dilemma: Write what and why?

Maybe I’m just like most people? I’m conflicted and inconsistent in what I’m trying to accomplish. On the one hand, I want to express myself, be who I am and benefit those who read what I write. On the other, I’d like to have a substantial readership, too. Those goals may be mutually exclusive. That’s my dilemma.

As I implied, there’s a part of me that doesn’t want to cater to the whims of the public. I’d rather find people who are interested in, and might benefit from, what I have to say (assuming there is a benefit and there are such people).

Considering the number of people on Twitter, theoretically, that shouldn’t be a problem. For that reason there should be more than enough people who are interested in what I have to say. Having said that, how do I reach them?

I have a twitter account but most of my following is the result of common business interests. They probably wouldn’t be interested in what I want to write on a personal level. I need to proceed with caution on that front. How do I advertise my blog in a way that would not be irritating to them?

That highlights another problem. My interests span a variety of topics that often bear little relationship to one another. Politics predominates at the moment but that won’t always be the case. I write poetry and prose. On top of that, I enjoy writing in Spanish as well as English. My skills in written Spanish are definitely not on a literary level but I still enjoy writing in it.

I know that there are different communities of writers in the blogosphere. I suspect that most of them are segregated according to interests. Writing in those groups would at least give me an audience but wouldn’t that be “preaching to the choir”? I would certainly appreciate the sage advice that any of my readers could give to me. There may be many insights that I’m missing. I’m perplexed with my own inconsistency. Need to make up my mind and go forward!

Leave a Reply

